Last weekend, I had the privilege of listening to Marilyn Chin read from her latest book, Revenge of the Mooncake Vixen. She was on the Border Crossings panel (moderated by Dmae Roberts) along with Polo Catalani and Canyon Sam. This was an amazing collective of writers and artists. It was definitely one of my favorite presentations at Wordstock.

Marilyn Chin said something that really resonated with me.

When asked why she wrote, Marilyn said she viewed writing as a feminist act. She pointed out that very few little brown girls have the opportunity to have their voices heard. Given the platform, she is committed to speaking loudly.

Damn, sister poet is dead on.

So here’s my commitment: I’ve decided to exploit my privilege of understanding race intimately. Because if I keep my mouth shut, the world will not move forward. I am young, multi-ethnic, and ready to use my creative abilities.

This means that I’m not going to shy away from examining the social, cultural, and political ramifications of race. I’m going to own my own discomfort and use my opportunities to speak. I am making the personal political.

Because very few little brown girls have the chance to be heard.

