All-American-cover-web

My first poetry workshop with MFA students left the awful impression that good poetry and obtuse poetry were synonymous. This was devastating. Luckily, that experience was the result of a compression exercise gone haywire.

Matthew Dickman’s All American Poem is the poetry collection I’ve been waiting for. It’s straight-forward without insulting my intelligence. It’s aware of the world. It’s accessable.  It’s brilliantly written and boldly executed.

Dickman writes poetry that’s unpretentious and engaging. Place, pop-culture, lust, and love are just a few of the subjects taken on in this collection. Surprisingly, I was able to read several of Dickman’s multi-page poems back to back. The masters have yet to achieve this kind of harmony with my brain. Matthew Dickman writes the way I aspire to write.

This is contemporary poetry at it’s best. Read it.

Related links:

Fishouse Poems-Matthew Dickman
Northwest Writers At Work-The Poetry Posse